top of page

About Us

The Global University Consortium on SDG 13 has been activated. In 2018, The University of the West Indies was nominated by the International Association of Universities to be the institutional leader for SDG 13 within the Global Cluster on Higher Education and Research for Sustainable Development. This UWI-led Consortium brings together 10 other universities representing six geographic regions: University of Witwatersrand, University of Ghana, University of Waterloo, State University of New York, University of Bergen, University of Bristol, TERI School of Advanced Studies, The University of the South Pacific, University of Aruba, and Universidad de los Andes.

The IAU's Higher Education for Sustainable Development (HESD) promotes the role that universities have to fulfill in order to achieve Agenda 2030 and the Sustainable Development Goals (SDGs). It encourages a holistic approach to the SDGs, focusing specifically on the whole-institution approach through peer-to-peer learning and global collaborations. It is expected that by engaging with the SDGs, higher education institutions themselves will be transformed.


The focus areas of the Global University Consortium on SDG 13 include: coordination of activities related to climate action among universities and development partners at all levels; collaboration on joint projects across geographic regions for global impact; and knowledge brokerage and knowledge sharing for enhanced development effectiveness.

Click here for more

bottom of page